Quick Answer: When was the last time a canadian team won the stanley cup?

Who was the last Canadian team to win the Stanley Cup Finals?

The Vancouver Canucks are the last Canadian team standing in the Stanley Cup playoffs, after the Montreal Canadiens were ousted by the Philadelphia Flyers on Friday night.

What teams have never won a Stanley Cup?

In Summary: Here are the 11 NHL teams that have never won the Stanley Cup.

  • Buffalo Sabres.
  • Vancouver Canucks.
  • San Jose Sharks.
  • Florida Panthers.
  • Arizona Coyotes.
  • Nashville Predators.
  • Winnipeg Jets.
  • Minnesota Wild.

What years did the Canadiens win the Stanley Cup?

The Canadiens left the NHA to join the National Hockey League when it was established in 1917. They went on to capture the Stanley Cup again in 1924, 1930, 1931, 1944, 1946 and 1953. In 1956, the team won the first Stanley Cup in its five-year streak, which culminated with the 1960 victory.

Who has won the most Stanley Cups since 1967?

The NHL went through a series of expansions after 1967. The period between 1967 and 1992 is known as the Expansion era. The Canadiens won 9 more Cups in this era, more than any other team.

Which team has lost the most Stanley Cups?


  • Most wins: Montreal Canadiens (24)
  • Most losses: Boston Bruins (14)
  • Fewest losses: Colorado Avalanche (0)
  • Most consecutive wins: Montreal Canadiens (5 in 1956–1960)
  • Most consecutive losses: Toronto Maple Leafs (3 in 1938–1940), St.
  • Most consecutive appearances: Montreal Canadiens (10 in 1951–1960)

What player has most Stanley Cups?

Bottom Line: Jean Beliveau

Beliveau’s 17 Stanley Cups are the most in NHL history. He won seven more as an executive with the Canadiens following his retirement.

You might be interested:  Question: When are the oscars 2019?

Who has the longest Stanley Cup drought?

The record for the longest drought ever goes to the New York Rangers who went 54 years (1940 to 1994). Although the Toronto Maple Leafs are catching up, currently sitting at 53 years since their Cup win in 1967. Numerous teams in recent memory have ended their Cup drought.

Who hasn’t won a Superbowl?

The 12 teams that have never won a Super Bowl are the Minnesota Vikings, Buffalo Bills, Cincinnati Bengals, Carolina Panthers, Atlanta Falcons, Los Angeles Chargers, Tennessee Titans, Arizona Cardinals, Cleveland Browns, Detroit Lions, Houston Texans, and the Jacksonville Jaguars.

How many Stanley Cups exist?

There are actually three Stanley Cups: the original bowl of the “Dominion Hockey Challenge Cup”, the authenticated “Presentation Cup”, and the spelling-corrected “Permanent Cup” on display at the Hockey Hall of Fame.

Who is the greatest hockey team of all time?

And the Winner is…

The greatest NHL dynasty of all time was the Montreal Canadiens, 1975-76 to 1978-79.

How much is the Stanley Cup worth?

Purchased in 1892 by Lord Stanley himself, governor-general of Canada, the silver punch bowl which became the Stanley Cup cost Stanley roughly $48, or what amounts to a little over $1,000 dollars today.

Why is Montreal called the Habs?

According to NHL.com, the first man to refer to the team as “the Habs” was American Tex Rickard, owner of the Madison Square Garden, in 1924. Rickard apparently told a reporter that the “H” on the Canadiens‘ sweaters was for “Habitants”.

Who was the fastest player in NHL history to reach 1000 career points?

Fastest players to 1,000 points: Wayne Gretzky – 424 games. Wayne Gretzky – He hit 2,000 points 433 games later. Mario Lemieux – 513 games.

You might be interested:  Readers ask: When was jimmy carter president of the united states?

Who won Stanley Cup each year?

NHA/NHL vs. PCHA/WCHL/WHL champions (1915–1926)

Year Winning team Games
1921 Ottawa Senators (NHL) (3, 2–1) 3–2
1922 Toronto St. Patricks (NHL) (2, 2–0) 3–2
1923 Ottawa Senators (NHL) (4, 3–1) 2–0
1924 Montreal Canadiens (NHL) (4, 2–1) 2–0

What NHL teams no longer exist?

Montreal, Quebec City and Atlanta all have two defunct or relocated teams with the Wanderers and Maroons, the Athletics and Nordiques, and the Flames and Thrashers, respectively. Philadelphia (Philadelphia Flyers), Pittsburgh (Pittsburgh Penguins), and St. Louis (St. Louis Blues) gained teams during the 1967 expansion.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *